Buggy Bank Reviews


David S. 12/1/2019

These people are GREAT!! No BS, they really help sellers and buyers navigate the car sales business. I ended up selling my car to a car dealer of some sort, which is fine, but these folks like to "play games". Buggybank stayed open an hour later so the buyer could arrive, and they made sure games weren't played. I cannot say enough good things about them. The complete opposite of the stereotype of "used car salesmen."


Janet N 11/16/2019

Jerry had a lot of helpful advice regarding my selling/donating options for my '98 Ford. If you are in need of selling your car, I'd strongly recommend calling The Buggy Bank. I think this is a very well run business that is doing a great service for the community.


Jaime S 8/31/2019

I had test driven cars at Buggy Bank in the past, so when I needed to sell my Corolla after upgrading to a new Mazda I came to them. Jerry and his team are great. They were able to take my car for the lot right away. Jerry helped me figure out my price and after looking my car over recommended that I didn't really need detailing. (I cleaned it and washed it myself before hand). Buggy Bank also connected me with Berkeley Star Smog, who came and got my car from Buggy Bank and smog tested it for me (I believe they did this same day as well!) My car was up on their website the next day, and it sold that day! I couldn't have had a better experience. I'm glad I sold my car here instead of trading it in with a dealer. I got way more back for my car, and Jerry and everyone at Buggy Bank made the process just as painless as a trade in.


ble p 6/15/2019

The best experience anyone can ask for. Why? *Took my BMW in on day1, Jerry was patience in explaining everything (totally aligned with everything they listed on the website). Car was already showing on day2. Someone called on day8 to offer and buy *paid to wash and clean- totally worth it *professional pics and descriptions- Jerry followed up by email to send pics if I wanted to post on external website (but I didn't have to) *didn't have to deal with showing the car, scheduling, dealing with crazies on my own *they handle all of the closing, DMV, making sure you had a cashiers check Best thing of all to top this, Jerry had me list it for $1000 more so after the cleaning, smog, and listing, I still came out on top. This place and Jerry is such an asset to the community!!!


Mark F 6/9/2019

I brought my Honda from the Buggy Bank and am glad I did. It had high mileage, but it only had one owner. That's what I really like about the Buggy Bank is how many of the cars are from their original owner and well-maintained, so as a consumer you know what you are getting. The cashier's check part is a bit of a drag, but it's a small inconvenience. Will definitely buy another car there.


Susan Q 5/27/2019

Selling our Subaru was much more complicated and difficult than I'd expected, so I'm glad we used the Buggy Bank to help us through the process. I only give four stars because the flat rate price was higher than I had hoped to pay, but ultimately, I think it was worth it. They did a great job detailing the car for a very reasonable price, and we put it on the market at the rate that seemed to be the going rate on Craigslist. Then the mechanical/computer problems started, and we had to pull it off the lot a few times to fix an EGR failure in order to pass the smog test. Jerry was very helpful and understanding the whole time, and coached us on lowering the price conservatively when it wasn't selling. They also did touch up cleaning after the shine wore off. We finally sold the vehicle at the tail end of the six week window, but never felt any pressure from the Buggy Bank to cut corners to get it off the lot. I felt that Jerry was fair and honest the whole time. (On the other hand, I would give Subaru a one star rating-- what an expensive nightmare to get that thing fixed!).


Matthew L 6/11/2018

I've been coming here to checkout the cars for a year and I finally found one I liked. The entire process was stress free, Jerry was very helpful and could not ask for more. This is much easier to buy a used car in a safe location with legitimate owners who want to sell their car. If you are in the market for a used car, this place should be on your list to visit.


Mike D 2/27/2019

Jerry at Buggy Bank made selling my car a pleasure. After a brief initial visit where he appraised the car, he told me I needed to get a recall fixed and a smog test done. After doing these, I brought the car in, paid $450 for the five-week viewing (you get one extra week of viewing if you pay upfront), and $175 to have the car detailed (paid an extra $25 to get the dog hair out). The car was listed the following day that I brought it in. Six days later, it was sold! A motivated buyer called me, made me an offer $200 less than I was asking (exactly as Jerry had predicted), and the deal was done. Although I spent $625 to sell it, I easily got about $200-300 more than I was hoping for. Plus I didn't have to mess with arranging test drives and it was reassuring to have Jerry help with filling out the paperwork to transfer the car. One last note, I met a woman there that said she'd been coming to Buggy Bank for years and loved it. Definitely a Berkeley institution.


Oscar M 1/7/2019

Buggy Bank was recommended to me by a good friend six years ago and I have since sold two cars there with their help. The service they offer is truly unique, the way they deliver it is awesome and Jerry is a very knowledgeable and friendly guy. I can only recommend them, if I ever need to sell my car the first thing I will do is visit them again!

 


Carolyn B 5/10/2018

I absolutely can't say enough good comments about Jerry and his awesome customer service. I needed to sell my car while living a long distance from the area and Jerry provided above and beyond some of the extra details and needs I needed to get the car sold. He is very courteous and very helpful in all respects!! If I ever had to sell another car in that area I wouldn't think twice about selling it through The Buggy Bank. Thank you so very much.


Dave K 3/15/2018

Jerry and his staff at BuggyBank are polite, helpful and knowledgeable! They helped me direct all the requests from Autotrader and CL, and saved me countless hours of time! I sold my vehicle for -600 what I Was asking for... That is incredible for both parties! The location is great, and I will definitely use their service again for my next vehicle! This is like a dream location to own a business! Thanks again Jerry and Buggybank crew!


P H 5/27/2018

We've sold two cars in the past five years at Buggy Bank, and had a fantastic experience each time, selling at excellent prices in short time spans. BB's location ensures high buyer foot traffic, and their process for marketing vehicles makes the whole process easy and fast for the seller. Jerry is great at advising on pricing, assists in finalizing deal paperwork upon sale .. ... and everything gets done without having to manage test drives and field buyer calls at home (until a truly qualified one is ready to make an offer). Overall, highly recommended as an honest business and in many ways a service to the community.


Carrie L. 3/4/2018

Jerry was very helpful and friendly. My 2014 car was smogged and sold within 3 days! I would gladly use Buggy Bank again. Thanks Jerry!


Kyoung L 1/24/2018

Jerry went above and beyond in helping us with a smooth transaction. We were able to sell our luxury car, that still had a loan on it. Jerry helped us submit all the paperwork to the lienholder and the DMV, and it was all handled on site. All we had to do was park the car there, make sure it was priced to move, and then negotiate the final sale price with the buyer. It was much easier and safer than doing it by ourselves. The buyer also seemed very satisfied with the whole experience. We did have to lower the price 3 times before the car sold, and we got 5-10% less than Blue Book. But our car sold within about 4 weeks and we got a great overall value from Buggy Bank. Our advice is make sure that when you list with them, you stay on top of the status and drop the price if it's not getting frequent test drives, especially if it's a high-priced car. Recommended!


Ed B 12/16/2017

What a terrific experience. Selling my 2014 Prius, I didn't want to deal with craigslist and having strangers come to my house (or worse, get in a car with a stranger for a test drive). Found Buggy Bank here on Yelp, and very glad I did. My local Toyota dealer had offered me $11,000 for the car. At Buggy Bank, the manager Jerry (a friendly and very helpful guy), recommended I list it for $14,950, a little under bluebook, and it sold it 10 days later for $14,500. For a flat rate, Buggy Bank displays your car, promotes it on their website, organizes test drives, then refers serious buyers to you directly to negotiate the price on the phone. Once you've agreed on an offer, you come back to the lot and Jerry helps with all the paperwork. They get no commission so they have no incentive to play games with the buyer or the seller. Plus, everything is 100 percent transparent. You can even look at all the history of cars they've sold, what price they were listed at, what they finally sold for, and the number of days they were on the lot. Bottom line: All I had to do was bring the car in, then go home and take a couple of phone calls to negotiate prices directly with buyers, then show up to sign the papers and pick up my check. Could not have been a better experience, and I'm $3500 richer as a result. I'm telling everyone I know about this place. It's also right next to Berkeley Bowl, so you can also do some grocery shopping. Can't beat that.


Tara Lyn L 10/8/2017

Wouldn't sell a car without these guys! Just sold my 2nd car through them. They do everything except take calls from buyers: car detailing, smogging, arranging test drives and mechanic inspections. All you have to do is talk to interested buyers and negotiate a price. They even do the sale paperwork! I couldn't/wouldn't have done it without them. Jerry is great and knows his stuff. Will sell all my future cars with them. Period.


candide o. 8/27/2017

Jerry is awesome! His advice was priceless. He walked me through the process of selling my Convertible BMW. I'm extremely pleased with the whole process, and his service was well worth the price. I ended up selling my car for $2-3K more than the dealership trade in price, and it was easy peasy. I even enjoyed meeting the new buyers. Highly recommended!


Tyler F 4/15/2017

First time customer and boy am I glad I sold with Buggy Bank. Jerry was a tremendous resource and put me at ease as a first-time Buggy Bank seller. If I could give this company/service 6 stars, I would! Worth. Every. Penny.


Eva G 5/6/2016

Jerry is really helpful and friendly, and every time I called, he picked up the phone immediately. This service makes buying or selling one's car super convenient. Even though I am a lawyer, there are just a lot of papers that I don't normally see, but someone who buys and sells cars regularly knows these really well. Jerry had all of the necessary papers lined up and ready to be executed, which made the whole process seamless.


© Buggy Bank 2020
(510) 848-3015